New fossil constrictor snake from the canton of Zurich

by Dr. Torsten M. Scheyer, Paläontologisches Institut und Museum UZH

A new species of snake with the scientific name Palaeopython helveticus was recently described from 40-34 million year old Eocene karst columns in the Jurassic Lägern limestones near Dielsdorf, Canton Zurich.

fossil snake
Reconstruction of the Palaeopython helveticus sp. nov. and other fauna from the late Eocene of Dielsdorf.

During the middle to late Eocene, more than 34 million years ago, the climate was warm and humid in and around Zurich. During this period, there occurred karstification including crevasse and cave formation of the approximately 155 million years old Lägern limestones underground, while a rich fauna including primeval horses, crocodiles, small lemurs of the genus Necrolemur, as well as snakes lived in lush tropical forests and waters. Remains of all these animals are found in the Dielsdorf karst column infillings, with teeth, jaw remains and isolated bones of mammals, such as those of ungulates and small tree-dwelling lemurs, being particularly common. Snakes and lizards, however, are rather rare. Their fossils are mainly found in the form of isolated snake vertebrae and a lower jaw remnant of a relative of today's monitor lizards. Part of the previously described snake vertebrae and new fossil material were identified and assigned to a previously unknown type of non-toxic constrictor snake of the group "Booidea": the so-called Palaeopython helveticus. The group of the "Booidea" also includes the boa constrictor / common boa (Boa constrictor) and the anacondas from South America.

The vertebrae of Palaeopython helveticus had comparatively very high and arched neural arches, which end in high neural processes - they are thus well distinguishable from vertebrae of other species. High-resolution computed tomography images (micro-CT) were also used to gain insights into the interior of the bones. The micro-CT images of several vertebrae of different sizes show that external differences in the vertebral shape are due to ontogenetic variation, i.e., age-related differences within the new species Palaeopython helveticus instead of presenting features of different types of constrictor snakes.

team
Researchers Georgios L. Georgalis and Torsten M. Scheyer discussing the new snake fossil.

Palaeopython helveticus was published online on June 5th 2019 in the Swiss Journal of Geosciences:

Georgalis, G.L. and Scheyer, T.M. 2019. A new species of Palaeopython (Serpentes) and other extinct squamates from the Eocene of Dielsdorf (Zurich, Switzerland). Swiss Journal of Geosciences [doi: 10.1007/s00015-019-00341-6].

Neue fossile Würgeschlange aus dem Kanton Zürich

von Dr. Torsten M. Scheyer, Paläontologisches Institut und Museum UZH

Aus 40-34 Millionen Jahre alten eozänen Karstspaltenfüllungen in den jurassischen Lägernkalken bei Dielsdorf im Kanton Zürich wurde vor kurzem eine neue Schlangenart mit dem wissenschaftlichen Namen Palaeopython helveticus beschrieben.

fossil snake
Rekonstruktion von Palaeopython helveticus sp. nov. und andere Fauna aus Dielsdorf im späten Eozän.

Während des mittleren bis späten Eozäns, also vor mehr als 34 Millionen Jahren, herrschte ein feuchtwarmes, tropisches Klima in und um Zürich. In diesem Zeitraum kam es zur Verkarstung inklusive Spalten- und Höhlenbildung der ca. 155 Millionen Jahre alten Lägernkalke im Untergrund, während darüber eine reichhaltige Fauna inklusive Urpferden, Krokodilen, kleinen Lemuren der Gattung Necrolemur, sowie Schlangen in üppigen Wäldern und Gewässern lebten. Überreste all dieser Tiere sind in den Dielsdorfer Karstspaltenfüllungen zu finden, wobei Zähne, Kieferreste und Einzelknochen von Säugetieren, wie etwa solche der Huftiere und der kleinen baumbewohnenden Lemuren, besonders häufig sind. In den Karstspaltenfüllungen sind Überreste von Schlangen und Echsen dagegen eher selten zu finden. Deren Fossilien liegen hauptsächlich in Form von vereinzelten Schlangenwirbeln und einem Unterkieferrest von einem Verwandten der heutigen Varane vor. Ein Teil der schon früher beschriebenen Schlangenwirbel sowie neues Fossilmaterial liess sich letztlich einer bisher unbekannten Art von ungiftiger Würgeschlange der Gruppe «Booidea» zuordnen: der so genannten Palaeopython helveticus. Zur Gruppe der «Booidea» gehören auch die Abgottschlange / Königsboa (Boa constrictor) und die Anakondas aus Südamerika.

Die Wirbel von Palaeopython helveticus hatten vergleichsweise sehr hohe und gewölbte Neuralbögen, welche in hohen Neuralfortsätzen enden – sie sind damit gut von Wirbeln anderer Arten zu unterscheiden. Mittels hochauflösender Computertomographie-Aufnahmen (micro-CT) konnten auch Einblicke ins Innere der Knochen gewonnen werden. Die micro-CT Aufnahmen von mehreren Wirbeln unterschiedlicher Grösse zeigen, dass äusserliche Unterschiede in der Wirbelform auf ontogenetische Variation, also altersbedingte Unterschiede innerhalb der neuen Art Palaeopython helveticus zurückzuführen sind, anstatt Merkmale verschiedener Würgeschlangenarten darzustellen.

team
Die Forscher Georgios L. Georgalis und Torsten M. Scheyer diskutieren über das neue Schlangenfossil.

Palaeopython helveticus wurde am 05. Juni 2019 in der Fachzeitschrift Swiss Journal of Geosciences online publiziert:

Georgalis, G.L. and Scheyer, T.M. 2019. A new species of Palaeopython (Serpentes) and other extinct squamates from the Eocene of Dielsdorf (Zurich, Switzerland). Swiss Journal of Geosciences [doi: 10.1007/s00015-019-00341-6].